top of page
Roy Keck

MyLearning: Virtualization

Next up in the "MyLearning" Blog Series is Virtualization, this one is a pretty short one.


To Recap - the "MyLearning" Blog Series outlines what I am Currently Learning or what I have Completed in my Learning Roadmap.


I will highlight the Resources and Strategies that I used to get me through it, my Results, and also what I plan to do to extend what I've learned to build on that knowledge.


The Intent - of this Blog Series is to give people a guide as to how I'm doing it so maybe to help people build their own Starting Point for their Careers.


The Goal - with each of these posts is to Share Resources and help guide people who might be overwhelmed at the amount of resources and information out there and aren't sure where or how to start.

 

The Details.


School: Davis Technical College, Kaysville UT


Course Book/Materials: Virtualization Essentials 2nd Ed by Matthew Portnoy - ISBN 9781119267720


Additional Resources I used:


Hypervisors Used:


Udemy Courses: < $12

  • A Complete Masterclass of Virtualization from Scratch


YouTube: FREE


Results from my strategy?

Passed the Course in about 3 weeks.

There was no Certification.


Continued Learning plans?

Looks like there's some VM Labs that I will continue to work with in the A+ Course, NET+ Course and SEC+ Course.


VM's aren't going anywhere...


What can I do to help you?

Just to encourage you to download the Free Trial of VMware or to see if your System Supports Microsoft Hyper-V and DO IT!!!


My Thoughts on the Course?

Prior to this, I have not worked with Virtualization or VM's, but it was a lot of fun!!!


I was a little intimidated, and... I have no idea why, I love new systems, new toys to play with, so yea just dive in and give it a try if you haven't yet.


I thought it was a great introduction to Virtualization!


It was very Hands On and Lab Heavy, which - I love!!!!!!!


In the beginning, it was a little tricky, but once I got settled in I was off and running.


That tends to be how all of my courses go, little slow, work to try and find my footing, and then I'm OFF and running.

 

Stay Tuned for More in the "MyLearning" Series:


NEXT UP: GRC Analyst Master Class by Gerald Auger.

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page