top of page
Roy Keck

MyLearning: CompTIA ITF+

I thought this would be a great idea for my Blog - a SERIES that outlines "MyLearning" where I basically highlight each Course or Certification that I'm working on.


I'll highlight the Resources that I used to get me through it, and my Results.


I'll also be highlighting what I will be doing to extend and build on the knowledge.


As all of you know, when you're in a Course/School Program, you don't get the luxury to focus on 1 topic for very long if you want to keep your progress going that is mandated by the School and stay out of the "Principles Office".


Then, it becomes important that once you have that initial accomplishment, to have a plan to build on what you learned further so that you not only retain the knowledge you got during the course, but to gain skill.


Here was my strategy during my CompTIA Information Technology Fundamentals Course.

 

First things First, the Details...


School: Davis Technology College, Kaysville UT


Course Book: ITF+ CompTIA IT Fundamentals All-in-One Exam Guide, Second ED (Exam FC0-U61) ISBN: 9781260441871


Additional Resources I used:

My Flashcard platform of Choice. I made tons of Flashcards with regards to Practice Exam Questions/Answers, Terms, Definitions, Acronyms, and the Chapter Book Questions.


Udemy Course: < $12

  • TOTAL: CompTIA IT Fundamentals ITF+ (FCO0U61) by Total Seminars Scott Jernigan/Mike Meyers


ITProTV: FREE

  • CompTIA IT Fundamentals+ (FCO-U61) Video Course

  • Practice Exams (Unlocked by my School)

  • Flashcards

  • Virtual Lab CompTIA IT Fundamentals+ (Unlocked by my School)


YouTube Videos: FREE

Wish I would have bookmarked the Videos so I could remember which ones I watched throughout this course. But there were quite of few, and they were all great. A simple search on YouTube, you'll find alot of Free, Great Content for passing/learning ITF+.


The Certification:

  • Provider: CompTIA

  • Exam Code: FC0-U61

  • Number of Questions: Max 75 per Exam

  • Type: Multiple Choice

  • Time: 60 Minutes

  • Expiration: Does NOT Expire, Lifetime

Results from my strategy?
  • I Completed the Course material in about 3 weeks.

  • Passed the Certification - 1st Attempt - Certified.

What can I do to help you?

Go find my Flashcard decks on Brainscape, I have quite of few people who have reached out to me and told me the cards are great. I typically grant FULL ACCESS to people who want to learn from my cards - FREE.


My Thoughts on the Course/Certification?

I think it's a great Course, and a great Entry Level Certification for those looking to - Get Started - and build some confidence. CompTIA's Certifications tend to build off each other as well. Getting ITF+, then heading into A+, then into NET+, etc. etc. is a pretty solid path for success if that's what your road map looks like - which, that is mine and then some.


I strongly considered just attempting the Certification and testing out of this Course. I have a wide range, background of IT knowledge already. I've done some Help Desk, and I've done some courses quite of few years ago. Though, I haven't worked with anything IT in quite awhile so I felt I was a little rusty and could use the refresher.


Ultimately, I'm glad I didn't attempt to test out, I would have Failed, and it probably would have immediately killed my confidence. The course only took me 3 weeks, and my strategy worked, and I thought it was a great refresher to get me back into the swing of things and start with some Momentum having passed the Certification.


Incidentally, this was my very first Certification I've ever attempted. That's kind of neat to think about now...

 
Some extra study tips:

Everyone Learns differently.


For me, a Strategy of reading the material, translating key information and quizzes into Flashcards, and then drilling Flashcards from start to finish throughout the course. Adding more to my Flashcards/Decks as I progress further and further though the course. This strategy seems to work for me, so hopefully maybe it helps others.


Prior to starting School I did alot of research on Efficient Learning Techniques.


I found a great YouTuber by the name of Tina Huang who has some insightful and wise techniques for various types of Learners. I encourage you all who are looking to build a foundation for Self-Learning to check out her videos for inspiration.

 

I think it's extremely important to understand yourself, and to know how you Learn, to be comfortable with it.


We all learn different ways, and I think sometimes Schools tend to try and force a certain kind of way on us. That's fine and dandy for folks or youth who don't really know their own selves or tendencies yet and it's a great to be guided by the school. But for us old timers, those of us who don't fit in those boxes, we got to find our own way to learn.


I hope this helps. Thanks!!!


Stay tuned for More in "MyLearning" Series - NEXT UP: Linux Essentials, Microsoft Network Fundamentals, and Python.

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page