top of page
Roy Keck

MyLearning: CompTIA Network+ 008

Next up in the "MyLearning" Blog Series is the CompTIA Network+ N10-008 Certification.


To Recap - the "MyLearning" Blog Series outlines what I am Currently Learning or what I have Completed in my Learning Roadmap.


I will highlight the Resources and Strategies that I used to get me through it, my Results, and also what I plan to do to extend what I've learned to build on that knowledge.


The Intent - of this Blog Series is to give people a guide as to how I'm doing it so maybe to help people build their own Starting Point for their Careers.


The Goal - with each of these posts is to Share Resources and help guide people who might be overwhelmed at the amount of resources and information out there and aren't sure where or how to start.

 

The Details.


School: Davis Technical College, Kaysville UT


Course Book: Mike Meyers 'All in One - CompTIA Network+ Certification Exam N10-008 Guide Eight Edition' (Exam N10-008)


$43 ISBN: 978-1-26-426906-8


Course Lab Manual: Mike Meyers 'CompTIA Network+ Guide to Managing and Troubleshooting Networks Lab Manual Sixth Edition' (Exam N10-008)


$45 ISBN: 978-1-26-427473-4


Course Exam Cram: 'CompTIA Network+ N10-008 Exam Cram'


$25 ISBN-13: 978-0-13-737576-9


Additional Resources I used:

  • TOTAL: CompTIA Network+ Course (N10-008) by Mike Meyers - $14

  • CompTIA Network+ (N10-008) Practice Exams x6 by Jason Dion - $14

  • Introduction to IP Addressing and Subnetting the Easy Way by Alton Hardin - $16

  • CompTIA Network+ N10-008 Practice Exam x1

  • CompTIA Network+ N10-008 Practice Exam x2

  • CompTIA Network+ N10-008 Practice Exam x3

YouTubers Used:

Mobile Apps:

Flashcard Tool:

  • Brainscape - Find me on LinkedIn and I'll hook you up with a Flashcard Course FREE that has over 2000 Flashcards in it for the latest N10-008 Network+ Certification.

Extra Extra:

  • Connect with people on LinkedIn and Discord. Lots of great People who are willing to lend their time for Knowledge and Support.


The Certification

  • Provider: CompTIA

  • Exam Code

  • Number of Questions: Max of 90 Questions Per Exam

  • Type: Multiple Choice /w PBQs

  • Time: 90 Minutes Per Exam

  • Expiration: 3 Years

My strategy?

My Strategy has stayed the same from any of the other MyLearning Blogs I've posted/Courses I've completed. So, I'll get more into the Details of MyLearning Process here.


#1 - Start with Coursework!!!

  • I use a Combination of UDEMY Courses that I purchase for CHEAP, and my School's Course Material.

  • I double or even in some cases Tripple UP on Coursework. For Network+ I did a Udemy Course, my School's Course, and I did some of Professor Messer's Course from his Website. On top of that I did a number of YouTube Videos for various topics that I wanted to drill down further on, or areas I was weak in.

  • I love multiple sources of materials because it gives you different explanations, perspectives and viewpoints for various topics. It's bound to stick!

#2 - Baseline Practice Exams

  • Before, During, and After the Coursework Materials that I go through, I take various Baseline Practice Exams to measure my progress, and to identify Weak Objectives.

  • For these Baseline Exams, I prefer the ITProTV Exams. I feel their Exams force you to drill down deep on various Objectives, and in my opinion, are quite tough. Tougher than the Certification in some respects, but maybe that's just me. These Exams I feel get deep in the weeds and that's great for Baselining, measuring your knowledge and progress.

#3 - Flashcards!!!

  • If you are like me and find it a daunting task to write out all your Flashcards - then, DON'T!

  • I use a Flashcard Service - Brainscape. I plug them and talk about them regularly. The reason I picked Brainscape over the normal Quizlett is ease of use and flexibility. Brainscape has an APP that you can download to your phone and take it on the go. Brainscape gives you just enough customization building your Flashcards where it's not too excessive, but not too simple either. I can build entire Decks with quickness and ease.

  • I plug everything I do in Flashcards. Practice Exams, Course Exams, Mobile App Questions that I miss. If it's a Question, it's going into my Flashcards.

  • This gives me the ability to keep Drilling Questions, Lingo, Terminology, Definitions on the go, anytime I'm waiting, or... when I'm between Courses and doing breaks. At times on the Weekends, I wouldn't do any "New" Course Materials to give my mind a break, but I would still drill my Flashcard Decks a few times here or there just to keep the terminology fresh.

  • I also think Flashcards are a great way to help Retain some of the basic information from course to course. Heading into Security+ for example, I'll still go back and run through my A+ or NET+ Flashcards, my Port Numbers, or Acronyms for example. They always come in handy.

#4 - Exam Prep

  • So, you finished all the Coursework, you're done right? Wrong!

  • You still want to focus on Exam Prep, Practice Exams that are similar to Pearson/CompTIA and Performance Based Lab Practice.

  • This phase is important I think because it takes you from the Mindset of School, and Knowledge and puts you specifically into the Certification Exam mindset - and yes, those mindsets are Different.

  • I prefer Jason Dion's Practice Exams, can be found on Udemy again for Cheap. He usually does a Full Udemy item that has 6 Practice Exams in them, and sometimes some PBQ focused content as well. He also gives you great Exam Taking tips to go along with it. I find Jason Dion's Exam Practice Questions are close to CompTIA's wording and context.

  • I also prefer the Exam Cram Books from Pearson. Pearson are the folks who make the Exams from CompTIA, so it would make sense to purchase material directly from the Source. These books are usually pretty cheap, buy the Digital Versions, and in some cases being an Amazon Kindle Unlimited Subscriber you get them for FREE or discounted even further.

  • You will also want to focus sometime on Performance Based Labs and Simulations. Lots of YouTube Content Creators out there that post content of Labs/Sims. There are also resources out there like CompTIA's Lab Sims that my School gave me access to. Nothing beats Hands On though, so if you are able to tinker around by building a Home Lab or something, even better. Alot of the Lab Sims though aren't Hardware Setup but more along the lines of Operating System and Settings Configurations. Getting into Menus and Settings, knowing where to find Information, that's key.

And NOW - you're ready for the Exam!!!


Results from my strategy?

Network+:

  • Study Time: 6/2022 - 8/2022

  • Exam: 8/22/2022

  • Results: Passed

  • Score: 736

Continued Learning plans?

As some of you know, I'm currently in a Certificate Program for Cybersecurity.


The program focuses heavily on Fundamentals and making sure you approach each of the Courses with a Security mindset.


By the time I got to Network+, I had run a pretty nice gambit to make Network+ not feel quite as... Thick.


I had Completed CompTIA IT Fundamentals+ and A+, Networking Fundamentals with Microsoft, Virtualization, Scripting that involved Python and PowerShell, and Linux. All of which lent some great frameworks that built into Network+ and will continue to do so as I head into Security+.


That's right, Security+ is coming up Next, and it's basically the last of the courses I would consider as the CORE components of this Cybersecurity Certificate. I'll also go on to take Project+ and another elective, but basically... I'm at the Home Stretch, and I can feel it!!!


What can I do to help you?

Strategy Ideas:

I hope this more in-depth guide on MyLearning process helps those of you trying to find your footing and understanding, knowing where to start.


Cost:

I briefly explained my Udemy Strategy earlier in this blog post. I keep my Wishlist stacked of things I want to learn, things that are on my Roadmap/Pathway. Then when I get notification that they are On Sale, I buy up a bunch of things. Be careful though, don't do what I did and purchase some of them way in advance. Because then you run into a situation - like I did - where the Network+ 007 rotated out and you need to work on 008 for example. A+ also recently updated their Exam Objectives. So just be careful, and I promise you if you let a great Promotion pass by now, it will come back around. Udemy is great with the Promos, they will come back around again, just be patient!!!


YouTube:

YouTube is an amazing resource! There is just a TON of amazing Content Creators out there that all put their stuff on YouTube - FREE OF CHARGE. You can find FULL Courses on YouTube, or you can find a Content Creator who does videos specifically about various topics where you can drill down further in more detail about various things if needed. Identify your weak spots and find YouTube videos that address them and dig deeper.


Brainscape:

I talk about Brainscape alot. It has been a very valuable tool for me since I have started this. I briefly explain why I think Flashcards are useful and needed - no matter your learning style. On the Go, it's just a great thing to be able to drill cards when you're waiting around... or, drilling material between courses to keep things you learned fresh while you're adding to the learning. Find a Flashcard service that you like and go to town!!


For those interested... I have 2000+ Flashcards for A+ and Network+ Courses. I'm sure as I work through the material, I'll have over 2000+ for Security+ coming soon as well.


I share my Flashcard Courses totally Free - but you will have to create a Brainscape account to view them. A Free Brainscape account gives you the ability to create as many Flaschards as you want for yourself. Usually though to view other people's Flashcard Courses you do need to pay a Subscription, but I share my Courses to anyone for FREE - Full Viewing Access.


It is my way of giving back to a community who has encouraged, inspired and helped me along the way.


My Thoughts on the Course/Certification?

Anyone that knows me knows, I was dreading this one.


It's tough, no doubt about it.


A+ is broken up into 2 Exams, and I feel like because of that - it requires you to know alot about a little in each. I thought ITF+ was tough, because here is a situation where you need to know a little, about a lot.


I believe what helped to make me successful for Network+ is because I was able to kind of step things up, from course to course. ITF+ to Networking Fundamentals to A+.


That gambit up to Network+ helped give me some areas of strength heading into it.


Make no mistake though, Network+ requires you to know alot, about alot. The net is wide on this one, and I believe this is one of the more difficult - entry level - certifications to get.


Security is one of the Objectives in Network+, and thus I think Security+ is going to be a situation where it's needing to know alot about a little again. I tend to do really well with those ones, a side from the fact I did great on the Security Objective in Network+.


I'm happy to finally have Network+ behind me. If I'm being honest, it was more of a Mental Battle than anything as I was going through somethings while I was in that course. It's a humbling course, and Certification.


I think the Key Takeaway, or Advice I can give to anyone studying Network+. Don't feel like you have to know everything... That's impossible. Understand the concepts and use Flashcards to really drill down on the basics.


More importantly, cut yourself some slack, be kind to yourself, trust yourself and your process, and GO FOR IT!


Pass or Fail - it's going to be ok, don't give up, and use the Failures to see where you are Weak and drill down deeper on those Weak Areas.


Stay Tuned for More in the "MyLearning" Series - COMING UP: Security+, DEC 2022.

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page