top of page
Roy Keck

MyLearning: Linux Essentials

The next one in the "MyLearning" Series - Linux Essentials.


To recap, the "MyLearning" Series in my Blog is going to outline the things that I'm learning or have learned, and I'll highlight the Resources - Strategies used, and my results.

 

Let's get straight to it...


School: Davis Technology College, Kaysville UT


Course Book: None


Course Syllabus: Cisco Networking Academy - Linux Essentials 2021


Additional Resources I used:

You will undoubtably notice a pattern here. I absolutely love Brainscape, it takes care of my Flashcard needs and it's all FREE. There is a premium that you can subscribe to for additional features, but it is definitely not needed. It's quick and efficient to create new decks and add, edit cards.


Udemy Courses: < $15 ea

  • LPI Linux Essentials (010-160) Complete Course and Exams

  • Learn Linux in 5 Days and Level Up Your Career

I keep a stacked WISH LIST on Udemy, and I keep a close eye on sales. There are constantly sales triggering off, and it's very easy to get courses you need for less than $20 a pop, easy. Even cheaper than that sometimes. There are also some great people on LinkedIn, and various Udemy LinkedIn groups that will sometimes post FREE Coupon Vouchers for some of these courses. Great resources for E-Self-Learners.


ITProTV: FREE

  • Linux Essentials

Yep, again, the trifecta that worked for me in my previous course... didn't change a thing with my strategy because it worked.


YouTube Videos: FREE

Lots of great content on YouTube, again I didn't bookmark or save all the videos I watched. But mostly the Videos I searched and watched were Linux Essentials and Linux for Beginners, highlighting the most used Commands and such.


The Certification:

  • Provider: Linux Professional Institute (LPI)

  • Exam Code: 010-160 Linux Essentials

  • Number of Questions: 40 Questions

  • Time: 60 Minutes

  • Expiration: Does NOT Expire, Lifetime

I did not take the Linux Essentials Certification offered by LPI. However, here are the details anyways because it's still one of my goals later this year.


Results from my strategy?
  • I Completed the Course material in about 3 weeks.

  • Certification - Did not take the Certification though I was told I would probably have been fine if I did the Linux Essentials exam.

The Reason - I didn't dive as deep into Linux as I had hoped during the course, and I didn't feel ready. Took a LinkedIn Linux quiz and I wasn't convinced I was ready for the LPI Linux Essentials Certification. It is something I do still plan to do later this year though as I've done some more practice and more learning.


Continued Learning plans?

Book:

  • 101Labs CompTIA Linux+ by Paul Browning ISBN: 9780992823924

Udemy Courses:

  • Red Hat Linux System Administration Certification

  • Red Hat Linux Essentials Certification Practice Tests

  • Kali Linux Tutorial for Beginners

  • Kali Linux Quick Start Guide - Learn Kali Linux Fundamentals

My Thoughts on the Course?

Since I did not do the Certification, I can't speak too much about it. The Certification though appeals to me as an Entry Level Linux Certification. It's a Lifetime Certification, which also appeals to me. I had considered the CompTIA Linux+ Cert, or other Linux Cert Providers, however I honestly don't know where I want to take my Linux skills. I'm still debating it, I enjoy working in Linux being an old DOS baby, the Command Line Interfaces don't bother me. I do plan to dive further into Linux at some point.


The Course though I thought was pretty good. It was all done in the Cisco Network Academy and if anyone knows about that, it's a solid resource and they have a wealth of other great Courses in there - that are FREE. I thought the Practice Labs were great, in fact I thought those were the best part of the Course - getting in there and doing the work. I admit, I found the "History of Linux" rather boring, no disrespect to Linus Torvalds and any other folks who were a part of its history.


While I was doing the course, I took one of my older laptops and tinkered around extensively with about 15 different Distros. I ultimately settled on running a Kali Linux (STRIPPED) version as a Daily Driver on that older laptop. Why? Well, Kali Linux is "The" Linux Distro it seems to sharpen your Offensive and Defensive Skills. I thought, I would kill 2 birds with 1 stone and learn Linux with the preferred Distro of choice so that I learn ALL, of the nuances of not just Linux, but Kali too. I say Stripped because I did end up stripping out all the Tools - because simply when I need to work with one of the tools, I don't want to just open the Tool and go... I want to Install the Tool, learn how to work with it from installation and setup, to finish where the magic happens. This way, if anything funky is going on with the tool, I should be "aware" enough to fix it myself, at least that was the thought process behind it.

 

This course was short, and due to the fact, it didn't end with a required Certification - I didn't dive too deep or spend as much time in the weeds with it as I did with the ITF+ course.


Also, because I do plan to keep working with Linux with the additional resources I picked up in my spare time when I can. This isn't the end of my Linux learning, that is for sure.


Stay tuned for More in "MyLearning" Series - NEXT UP: Microsoft Network Fundamentals. I completed the ITF+, Linux, Network Fundamentals, and Python, I'm publishing these to play catch up on this Series.

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page