top of page
Roy Keck

My Top 100 Favorite Movies - Ranked

Before we get to MY Top 100 Favorite Movies - I want to share with anyone that reads this...

Why?

Listen, this world can be a negative place if you pay attention to everything you see. I do.

Whether it's our Jobs that get us down...

a Toxic environment...

an unfulfilling relationship...

watching the news...

constant reminders that no matter how hard you work, you'll never be good enough...

unhappiness...

It just doesn't matter, it's all around us. There's no shortage of Negativity, the feelings of Self Defeat - the world, and other people feeding our insecurities.

What do we do about it? We can't let it get us down, so you need to have a Plan.

You need to find a way to release it, to disconnect from it all sometimes.

Find your "Happy Places", those "Gotos" that will help to reel you back in, to refocus you.

For me, some of my gotos are Music, Movies, or a great TV Show that has all the feels.


I don’t know how to describe it… sometimes I can just disappear and be in the music or be in my favorite movie moments and be somewhere else for 2 hours. When I'm feeling a certain kind of way, I watch movies from My Top 100, they're my gotos. I listen to my Spotify Playlists, or I go get a fresh haircut. I have many gotos in my reserves, ready for when I need them.


#TreatYoSelf - If any of you are familiar with "Parks and Rec", you'll know where that comes from. I call it “Treat Yo Self Day”. "Parks and Rec" is another one of my "Happy Places" that I go once and awhile when I need that pick me up. That show is great!


It doesn't even have to be a place. It could be just something that reminds you of a time when you were happy, or something that can let your mind go to that place even if it doesn't exist, you make it exist.

The bottom line is - you need Something. We are not always our best selves every day, so you need something to help you on those tough days to get you through it. To get you to the Next Day – where, maybe it’ll be better, a good day.

I developed this Top 100 Movie List quite of few years ago, and I make updates here or there when I see a New Movie or quite frankly remember an old favorite.

The #1 Movie, that... will never change - probably.

Tombstone is by far my all-time #1 favorite movie. No, not because I like Westerns, because I don't. That movie isn't really a "Western" to me. That movie is about Friendship, strong Bonds that go unbroken, no matter how many years go by. That movie is about LIFE, and Hope. I can probably go on and on about that movie, but that's not what this Blog post is for so I’ll stop.

Bottom line, when you’re feeling “IT”, Find your "Happy Place" and goto them when you need it.
 

Here's the list...


#1 - Tombstone

#2 - Big Fish

#3 - Seven Pounds


#4 - Walk the Line

#5 - Good Will Hunting


#6 - What Dreams May Come

#7 - Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

#8 - Ford v Ferrari

#9 - Stranger Than Fiction

#10 - Shawshank Redemption


#11 - Antwon Fisher

#12 - The Adjustment Bureau

#13 - Matrix Revolutions

#14 - Matrix Resurrections

#15 - Matrix

#16 - Nine Days

#17 - The Giver

#18 - A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

#19 - The Fundamentals of Caring (Netflix Original)

#20 - Cloud Atlas


#21 - Conversations With God

#22 - Life Itself (Prime Original)

#23 - Pay it Forward

#24 - The Notebook

#25 - Dear Evan Hanson

#26 - Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close

#27 - Interview With God

#28 - Matrix Reloaded

#29 - Groundhog Day

#30 - The Fountain

#31 - The Space Between Us

#32 - Simon Birch

#33 - Collateral Beauty

#34 - Everything Must Go

#35 - A Star is Born

#36 - The Pursuit of Happiness

#37 - The Wrestler

#38 - Wakefield

#39 - Crash

#40 - Steel Magnolias

#41 - Eat Pray Love

#42 - Can't Hardly Wait

#43 - Path Adams

#44 - The Invention of Lying

#45 - A Beautiful Mind

#46 - Meet Joe Black

#47 - The Truman Show

#48 - A River Runs Through It

#49 - Vanilla Sky

#50 - Wonder


#51 - Glory

#52 - Inception

#53 - Fences

#54 - The Green Mile

#55 - City of Angels

#56 - Welcome to Marwen

#57 - Yesterday

#58 - Notting Hill

#59 - JoJo Rabbit

#60 - Bohemian Rhapsody

#61 - The Imitation Game

#62 - Searching for Bobby Fischer

#63 - John Q

#64 - The Sixth Sense

#65 - The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

#66 - Catch Me if You Can

#67 - Seeking a Friend for the End of the World

#68 - Flywheel

#69 - Facing the Giants

#70 - Fireproof

#71 - Joker

#72 - 12 Years a Slave

#73 - Men of Honor

#74 - The Book of Eli

#75 - Remember the Titans

#76 - Mr. Nobody

#77 - My Cousin Vinny

#78 - Fried Green Tomatoes

#79 - Tin Cup

#80 - Last Chance Harvey

#81 - Message in a Bottle

#82 - The Love Letter

#83 - A Perfect World

#84 - Regarding Henry

#85 - Taking Chance

#86 - In Good Company

#87 - Moneyball

#88 - Ali

#89 - Braveheart

#90 - Ray

#91 - Trouble With the Curve

#92 - Temple Grandin

#93 - The Bucket List

#94 - The Upside

#95 - The Greatest Showman

#96 - What's Eating Gilbert Grape

#97 - Grand Torino

#98 - Grumpy Old Men

#99 - The Accountant


#100 - My Girl


 

I hope my advice helps you all get through some of those rough days and this gets the ideas flowing of what some of your goto "Happy Places" may be.

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page